Hugo Broos names preliminary squad for Nigeira, Zimbabwe qualifiers

Hugo Broos names preliminary squad for Nigeira, Zimbabwe qualifiers

Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos on Wednesday named a 36-man shortlist ahead of the upcoming 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Nigeria and Zimbabwe.

Bafana will face the Super Eagles of Nigeria on 7 June at Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo, before hosting neighbours Zimbabwe at Free State Stadium in Bloemfontein four days later.

This will form part of their Group C campaign, in which Rwanda currently lead the race for a spot at the next World Cup set to be co-hosted in USA, Canada and Mexico.

Broos charges are currently second in the standings, one point behind The Wasps, one point ahead of Nigeria, Lesotho and Zimbabwe, and two points ahead of bottom-placed Benin.

The Belgian tactician will trim his squad to 23 players ahead of next month's all-important fixtures.

Most notably, Burnley striker Lyle Foster could return following his hiatus due to mental illness, while Orlando Pirates youngster Relebohile Mofokeng has also caught the eye of the national technical team.

READ: Bafana to return to Bloem on 2010 FIFA World Cup anniversary

Bafana 36-man preliminary squad:

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs), Ricardo Goss (SuperSport United), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu)

Defenders: Sydney Mobbie (Sekhukhune United), Thabiso Monyane, Innocent Maela, Nkosinathi Sibisi, Tapelo Xoki (all Orlando Pirates), Thapelo Morena, Aubrey Modiba, Mothobi Mvala, Terrence Mashego, Grant Kekana (all Sundowns), Given Msimango (Chiefs), Thabo Maloisane (Stellenbosch FC)

Midfielders: Teboho Mokoena, Bathusi Aubaas (both Sundowns), Grant Margeman (SuperSport), Jayden Adams (Stellenbosch), Sphephelo Sithole (CD Tondela, Portugal)

Forwards: Themba Zwane (Sundowns), Devin Titus, Iqraam Rayners (both Stellenbosch), Oswin Appollis (Polokwane City), Patrick Maswanganyi, Evidence Makgopa, Relebohile Mofokeng (all Pirates), Mlondi Mbanjwa, Tshepang Moremi (both AmaZulu), Elias Mokwana (Sekhukhune United), Lyle Foster (Burnley, England), Pery Tau (Al Ahly, Egypt), Mihlali Mayambela (Aris Limassol, Cyprus)