Lyle Foster left out of Bafana Bafana AFCON squad

Lyle Foster left out of Bafana Bafana AFCON squad

Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos has announced his 23-man squad for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations in Cote d’voire.

Burnley and Bafana attacker Lyle Foster has unfortunately been left out due to mental health challenges even though he was named in the preliminary squad.

Earlier this month Burnley mentor, Vincent Kompany shared that even though he takes the AFCON seriously, Foster’s mental health comes first and he doesn’t think he will be ready for the tournament.

Foster took a month-long mental health break after the club announced that he was receiving special care for his mental health challenges.

Foster made his first appearance since October - to start the second half in Burnley’s 2-0 Premier League home defeat to Everton on Saturday, 16 December.

FIFA rules allow the Member Associations (SAFA) to call up players to their national teams especially those who are fit to play, if there are any injury concerns, the players can come and be assessed by the national team doctors.

The squad includes 10 Mamelodi Sundowns players, who have been dominating the selection and the starting line-up of Bafana in the past six months and their experience on the continent having recently won the inaugural African Football League title, will come in handy.

There are only three overseas based players in the team, Percy Tau (Al Ahly), Mihlali Mayambela (Aris Limassol) and Sphephelo Sithole (Tondela FC).

Bafana Bafana are in Group E and will play against Mali, Namibia and Tunisia.

They open their campaign in Korhogo on 16 January 2024 against Mali.

There are three players on standby, Sibongiseni Mthethwa (Kaizer Chiefs), Elias Mokwana (Sekhukhune United) and Thapelo Xoki, who will travel with the team but won’t be part of the match day squad, unless there are injuries.


Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Ricardo Goss (SuperSport United)

Defenders: Sydney Nyiko Mobbie (Sekhukhune United), Khuliso Mudua, Aubrey Modiba, Grant Kekana, Mothobi Mvala, Terrence Mashigo (all Sundowns), Nkosinathi Sibisi (Orlando Pirates), Siyanda Xulu (SuperSport United)

Midfielders: Sphephelo Sithole (CD Tondela, Portugal), Teboho Mokoena, Thapelo Maseko, Thapelo Morena (All Sundowns) Thabang Monare (Orlando Pirates), Jayden Adams (Stellenbosch FC)

Forwards: Evidence Makgopa, Zakhele Lepasa (both Pirates), Themba Zwane (Sundowns), Mihlali Mayambela (Aris Limassol, Cyprus), Percy Tau (Al Ahly, Egypt), Oswin Appolis (Polokwane City)

By: Nozibusiso Sibiya & Velile Mnyandu

READ: Why some clubs make the PSL a ticking time bomb?