Desiree Ellis names the Banyana Banyana squad to face Senegal

Desiree Ellis names the Banyana Banyana squad to face Senegal

Banyana Banyana coach Dr Desiree Ellis has named a squad of 23 players to face Senegal in two away friendly international matches on 31 May and 4 June 2024.

Ellis has made several changes to the team that faced Nigeria last month in the Paris Olympic Games qualifiers.

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies goalkeeper Andile Dlamini, who missed the clash with the Super Falcons, has again been left out. Also not called up for this fixture are Spain-based defender Noko Matlou, Jermaine Seoposenwe who plies her trade in Mexico, captain Refiloe Jane (Italy) as well as Regirl Ngobeni (UWC), Gabriela Salgado (JVW) and Nomvula Kgoale (TS Galaxy Queens).

Making their return are goalkeeper Dineo Magagula (TS Galaxy Queens), defender Asanda Hadebe (Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies), midfielder Mmabatho Mogale (JVW) and forwards Thubelihle Shamase (FC Gintra – Lithuania) and Nicole Michael (TS Galaxy Queens).

With Jane out, Thembi Kgatlana is expected to captain the squad.

READ: Nomvula Kgoale: Banyana’s Olympic failure due to lack of motivation

After missing out on the Olympic Games scheduled for July/August this year, Banyana Banyana will be using the two matches as part of preparations for the CAF Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON) with the tournament dates still to be announced.

The last time South Africa faced Senegal was back in 2012 in the WAFCON group stages in Equatorial Guinea, and the African Champions won 1-0 through an Andisiwe Mgcoyi goal.

Banyana Banyana have already played four games in 2024 - they beat Burkina Faso 2-0 and 3-0 in the WAFCON qualifiers before going down 1-0 and sharing the spoils in a goalless draw with Nigeria.

 The squad is expected to assemble on Monday, May 27 in Johannesburg.


Kaylin SWART (JVW), Katlego MOLETSANE  (Royal AM), Dineo MAGAGULA (TS Galaxy)


Karabo DHLAMINI, Lebohang RAMALEPE, Asanda HADEBE, Bambanani Mbane, Tiisetso MAKHUBELA (All Mamelodi Sundowns), Fikile MAGAMA, Lonathemba MHLONGO  (UWC)


Bongeka GAMEDE, Sibulele HOLWENI, Amogelang  MOTAU (All UWC), Linda MOTLHALO (Racing Louisville), Nonhlanhla MTHANDI, Kholosa BIYANA (All Mamelodi Sundowns), Mmabatho MOGALE (JVW)


Thubelihle SHAMASE (Gintra Universitetas), Nicole MICHAEL (TS Galaxy), Noxolo CESANE    (UWC), Hildah MAGAIA, Sinoxolo CESANE (Mazatlan FC), Nthabiseng MAJIYA (Mamelodi Sundowns)