Rugby World Cup 2023 fixtures: When do the Springboks play?

Rugby World Cup 2023 fixtures: When do the Springboks play?

The Springboks will go into the Rugby World Cup in France as one of the favourites to claim their fourth global title and join New Zealand as the only back-to-back winners.

The defending champions will have to negotiate a tough group before the knockout stages as they face Ireland, Scotland, Romania and Tonga.

The Springboks have been placed in pool B for the competition with only two teams from each of the four groups advancing to the quarterfinals.

Springboks v Scotland - Sunday, 10 September

The Boks open their campaign against Scotland in Marseille with the tournament already well on its way by that stage.

The Scots under head coach Gregor Townsend will go into the World Cup campaign in good form having only lost to Ireland and France in this year's Six Nations.

Springboks v Romania - Sunday, 17 September

Jacques Nienaber's charges will then head to Bordeaux a week later to take on Romania, which should be the easiest clash of the group.

The European side are sitting down in 19th position on the world rankings and will find it tough against the South African side that sit in second place.

Springboks v Ireland - Saturday, 23 September

It what could potentially be one of the games of the tournament, the Springboks and the Irish are set for an epic battle that could determine the group winners.

Ireland are ranked number one in the world and come off a Six Nations campaign that saw them end with a perfect record of five wins out of five.

Springboks v Tonga - Sunday, 1 October

The South Africans will return to Marseille to round out their group matches with a clash against Tonga.

The Pacific Island have been boosted with plenty of international players returning to their homeland to ply their trade for their home country and could provide one or two upsets.


The quarter finals will take place in Stade Velodrome in Marseille and Stade de France in Paris on Saturday 14 and Sunday 15 October. Stade Velodrome will host QF1 and QF3, while Stade de France will host QF2 and QF4.

The sequence of play is as follows:

QF 1 - Winner Pool C v Runner up Pool D

QF 2 - Winner Pool B v Runner up Pool A

QF 3 - Winner Pool D v Runner up Pool C

QF 4 - Winner Pool A v Runner up Pool B

READ MORE: The Springboks' seven most iconic moments in Rugby World Cups down the years