Chloe Tryon returns from injury to bolster Proteas Women for T20 series in India

Chloe Tryon returns from injury to bolster Proteas Women for T20 series in India

Chloe Tryon has recovered from injury and will join the Proteas Women's squad for the three-match T20 series in India that starts in Chennai on Friday.

Tryon, who missed the three ODIs and the one-off Test due to a back injury, brings a wealth of experience back into the squad having already played 96 T20Is.

Delmi Tucker and Nondumiso Shangase will depart India after the Proteas went down 2-1 in the three-match ODI series and also lost the one-off Test match.

The series in the sortest format is important preparation for the upcoming T20 World Cup that will take place in Bangladesh staring in October.

Proteas Women convenor of selectors, Clinton du Preez said: "In selecting the squad for the upcoming T20I series against India, we focused on maintaining consistency, keeping a largely similar group to build on our strengths and cohesion.

"This approach allows us to refine our strategies and enhance team dynamics, which are crucial as we prepare for the T20 World Cup in Bangladesh.

âœOur goal is to provide a platform for our players to gain valuable experience and showcase their skills, ensuring we are well-prepared for the challenges ahead.

"The return of Chloe Tryon is a significant addition, and we are confident that this squad will perform with the determination and excellence that defines Proteas Women cricket."

Proteas Women interim head coach, Dillon du Preez added: "We're excited with the 15-player squad that has been selected for the T20I series.

"We also have Chloe back in the team after recovering from an injury. She brings a lot of experience to the team and we can't wait to see her back on the field.

"We have our last three T20I matches against India. This will give us some time to look at one or two options before we go home and start our final preparation for the T20 World Cup in Bangladesh."

Proteas Women T20 squad: Laura Wolvaardt (capt), Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, Annerie Dercksen, Mieke de Ridder, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sunee Luus, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Chloe Tryon