Sharks rest Boks for URC return against Edinburgh

Sharks rest Boks for URC return against Edinburgh

The Sharks have maintained their policy of squad rotation for their return to United Rugby Championship action against Edinburgh in the Scottish capital on Saturday.

Director of Rugby, Neil Powell, has made five changes to last week's starting line-up, resting his Springbok contingent of Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Jaden Hendrikse and Lukhanyo Am.

The players coming in include Hyron Andrews, the Venter duo of James and Henco (who comes in for Vincent Tshituka), Grant Williams for Hendrikse at scrumhalf and Francois Venter taking over from Am where he partners Ben Tapuai.

"At this stage of the season, we've addressed where we're lying on the log and where we feel we should be sitting, but we have played two games less than some of the teams, and we know the games we have left we have to win and that starts this weekend where we're looking to put in a good performance," Tapuai said.

Despite the Edinburgh team missing some of their internationals as well due to Six Nations commitments, the Australian international believes their opponents will be no less dangerous.

"We can't read too much into that, they are a very strong, quality side that has been in this competition for a long time, while this is only our second year and we're still learning the ropes.

"Whether they have their Scottish internationals or they don't, we know it's important for their campaign to try and finish as high as they can, the same for us.

"Coming off a disappointing loss against Harlequins last week, we're just focusing on ourselves and trying to get everything sorted for this match."

Saturday's kick-off is at 19H15 South African time.

Sharks:15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Marnus Potgieter, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Ben Tapuai, 11 Thaakir Abrahams, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Grant Williams, 8 Phepsi Buthelezi (captain), 7 Henco Venter, 6 James Venter, 5 Gerbrandt Grobler, 4 Hyron Andrews, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Ox Nche.

Replacements: 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Ntuthuko Mchunu, 18 Carlü Sadie, 19 Reniel Hugo, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Cameron Wright, 22 Lionel Cronje, 23 Yaw Penxe.