Evan Roos back for the Stormers to face Ulster in Belfast

Evan Roos back for the Stormers to face Ulster in Belfast

The Stormers will welcome back dangerous No 8 Evan Roos when they take on Ulster in Friday night's United Rugby Championship encounter in Belfast.

The two teams will square off at 21h35 SA time in what marks the Stormers' first-ever appearance at Kingspan Stadium after facing Ulster twice on home soil last season.

There are a number of changes throughout the team, which also sees some experienced players make their return to action

Prop Ali Vermaak will play his 50th match in the front row, where he is joined by hooker JJ Kotze and Brok Harris, while Scarra Ntubeni is back in the mix from the replacements bench, having recovered from a long-term injury.

Marvin Orie will captain the side and resumes his lock partnership with Ben-Jason Dixon. New recruit Ruben van Heerden is in line to make his Stormers debut from the bench.

Roos is back in the starting line-up, having featured as a replacement in the Heineken Champions Cup last week. He forms a fearsome loose trio with Willie Engelbrecht and Junior Pokomela on the sides of the scrum.

Jean-Luc du Plessis starts at flyhalf for the first time this season and will have Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu next to him in midfield.

Clayton Blommetjies is at fullback and is joined at the back by wings Suleiman Hartzenberg and Cornel Smit.

Veteran centre Juan de Jongh makes his return to the replacements bench, which also features Herschel Jantjies and Kade Wolhuter.

Stormers Head Coach John Dobson said that while there are a number of changes, there is no shortage of quality in the matchday squad.

"It is another short turnaround this week, but we are excited to see what these combinations can do.

"We have been bolstered by the return of some experienced players and we will need all of it against a good Ulster side," he said.

DHL Stormers: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, 11 Cornel Smit, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Willie Engelbrecht, 6 Junior Pokomela, 5 Marvin Orie (captain), 4 Ben-Jason Dixon, 3 Brok Harris, 2 JJ Kotze, 1 Ali Vermaak.

Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Ruben van Heerden, 20 Marcel Theunissen, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 Kade Wolhuter, 23 Juan de Jongh.