Bulls unveil two-match touring squad

Bulls unveil two-match touring squad

The Bulls have named a 31-men European touring squad that will do battle in the 2022/23 Heineken Champions Cup against Lyon and the United Rugby Championship versus Scarlets.

The side departs OR Tambo International Airport - on Tuesday 17 January 2023 - headed to France for their round 4 tie against Lyon in the Heineken Champions Cup at the Matmut Stadium de Gerland.

The fixture is set for Friday 20 January 2023, with kick-off set for 21:00pm local time, 22:00pm South African Time. Thereafter, the Pretoria outfit will fly to the United Kingdom, to begin preparations for round 13 of the 2022/23 United Rugby Championship.

Ruan Nortje's herd will face Scarlets at the Parc y Scarlets in Llanelli on Friday 27 January 2023, with kick-off set for 19:35pm local time, 21:35pm South African Time.

The Bulls begin their travel up North on a quest to confirm progress into the round of 16 in the Heineken Champions Cup whilst also looking to cement a spot in the playoffs of the Vodacom United Rugby Championship, where they currently rank 3rd behind the Stormers and Leinster respectively.


Ruan Nortje (c), Simphiwe Matanzima, Bismarck Du Plessis, Dylan Smith, Francois Klopper, Ruan Vermaak, Janko Swanepoel, Marco Van Staden, Cyle Brink, Embrose Papier, Johan Goosen, David Kriel, Gerhard Steenekamp, Johan Grobbelaar, Mornay Smith, Reinhardt Ludwig, Wandisile Simelane, Dylan Smith, Nizaam Carr, Elrigh Louw, Zak Burger, Chris Smith, Stravino Jacobs, Jan Hendrik Wessels, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Harold Vorster, Lionel Mapoe, Canan Moodie, Bernard Van Der Linde, Morne Steyn, Cornal Hendricks.