Agustin Creevy to make history as Argentina name side to face Boks

Agustin Creevy to make history as Argentina name side to face Boks

Hooker Agustin Creevy will become the first player to play 100 Test matches for Argentina when the Pumas line up to face the Springboks in Buenos Aires on Saturday.

Creevy has been named on the bench for the clash with South Africa, which is also the side™s last home game before the Rugby World Cup.

Head coach Michael Cheika has made five alternations to his starting XV from the side that lost 22-21 to the Springboks at Ellis Park last week.

While Creevy hits 100, full-back Martin Bogado makes his Test debut, replacing Juan Cruz Mallia, who is likely to miss the game through suspension.

Bogado forms an entirely new back three as Emiliano Boffelli replaces Mateo Carreras on the right wing, and Santiago Cordero earns his first cap of 2023, and 50th overall, on the left wing in place of Juan Imhoff.

The youthful centre pairing of Santiago Chocobares and Lucio Cinti gets another shot at the Springboks.

There is a change in the half-backs as Gonzalo Bertranou starts ahead of Lautrao Bazan Velez, with the latter dropping to the bench and Santiago Carreras starting at fly-half once again.

Into the pack and the back-row and front-row remain unchanged, with Juan Martin Gonzalez at number and Pablo Matera and Santiago Grondona on the flanks. Julian Montoya captains the side at hooker, with Thomas Gallo at loosehead and Francisco Gomez-Kodela at tighthead.

The final change to the starting XV sees lock Pedro Rubiolo earning his first start, partnering Tomas Lavanini after Lucas Paulos sustained a concussion last weekend.

Joining Creevy on the bench is experienced lock Guido Petti who makes his long-awaited return from injury, having last played for Argentina over 10 months ago.

Argentina: 15 Martin Bogado, 14 Emiliano Boffelli, 13 Lucio Cinti, 12 Santiago Chocobares, 11 Santiago Cordero, 10 Santiago Carreras, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Juan Martín González, 7 Santiago Grondona, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Pedro Rubiolo, 3 Francisco Gomez Kodela, 2 Julian Montoya (c), 1 Thomas Gallo

Replacements: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Joel Sclavi, 18 Eduardo Bello, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Facundo Isa, 21 Lautaro Bazán Vélez, 22 Tomás Albornoz, 23 Matías Moroni

READ MORE: Deon Fourie relishing every second of late Springbok opportunity