Marco Jansen rested as Proteas announce squad for Test series in West Indies

Marco Jansen rested as Proteas announce squad for Test series in West Indies

Marco Jansen has been rested for the Test series in West Indies after Proteas coach Shukri Conrad announced a 16-man squad for the two matches in the Caribbean next month.

Matthew Breetzke has received his maiden Test call-up after impressing in last season's domestic four-day competition with 322 runs at an average of 46, including a top score of 188.

Wicketkeeper-batter Ryan Rickelton makes his return to the red-ball setup for the first time since the Proteas hosted the West Indies in March 2023.

In the absence of Jansen, the pace attack will be led by Kagiso Rabada and Gerald Coetzee with Lungi Ngidi, Nandre Burger and Dane Paterson the other seam bowlers selected.

Anrich Nortje was not considered for the tour as he aims to concentrate on playing in T20 leagues around the world following his decision to opt out of a national contract.

The two-match Test series, which is part of the ICC World Test Championship, will be South Africa's first in the Caribbean since June 2021, which saw them claim a 2-0 series win over the hosts.

Conrad said: "This tour is extremely important for us as we aim to improve our standing in the ICC World Test Championship.

"We have therefore selected our strongest possible squad and look forward to strong performances in the Caribbean."We have one new face in the squad, Matthew Breetzke, who is selected on the back of an excellent past season. "The decision to rest Marco Jansen was taken to allow for a conditioning period aimed at ensuring optimal physical and mental well-being given the season-long workloads."

The Proteas Test squad - minus the players involved in the MLC in USA - will attend a red-ball camp in Durban from 15-19 July.

The team will then fly out to Trinidad on 27 July with a four-day warm-up fixture scheduled to be played from 31 July.

The first Test will take place at the Queens Park Oval from 7 August while the second and final match of the series will be played in Guyana from 15 August.

Proteas Test squad: Temba Bavuma (capt), David Bedingham, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Tony de Zorzi, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Dane Paterson, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan Stubbs, Ryan Rickelton, Kyle Verreynne

READ MORE: Proteas Women draw first blood in T20 series against India