Eastern Cape Sunrisers thrash Joburg Super Kings to secure playoff spot

Eastern Cape Sunrisers thrash Joburg Super Kings to secure playoff spot

The Eastern Cape Sunrisers marched into the SA 20 League playoffs with a nine-wicket pummelling of the Joburg Super Kings at Wanderers on Wednesday evening.

The sides made one change each to their respective lineups. For the Super Kings, Doug Bracewell came in for David Wiese, while Beyers Swanepoel replaced Ottniel Baartman in the Sunrisers lineup.

Sunrisers captain Aiden Markram won the toss and decided to bowl, which paid off handsomely as his side bowled the hosts out for 78, the second-lowest total of the tournament. The signs were ominous when seamer Daniel Worrall dismissed both Super Kings captain Faf du Plessis and Reeza Hendricks in the space of two balls in the second over.

The Super Kings were unable to put together any partnerships. Leus du Plooy (18), Wayne Madsen (32) and Doug Bracewell (12) were the only batsmen to get to double figures. Worrall was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets for 20 runs from four overs, while Patrick Kruger got three scalps and Marco Jansen and Beyers Swanepoel two apiece.

The visitors chased down the total of 79 in just 11 overs. Lizaad Williams took the only wicket - that of Jordan Hermann (11) to take his tally of dismissals in the tournament to 12, making him the second highest wicket-taker. Dawid Malan top-scored with 40 off 32 balls in his first appearance at the Bullring, while Tom Abell hit 26 off 20 balls as the Eastern Cape side cruised to victory.

With the Sunrisers, Durban Super Giants and Paarl Royals having already qualified, it is now a straight shootout between the Pretoria Capitals and the Super Kings for the final playoff spot.

READ MORE: Durban Super Giants secure SA20 top spot after seeing off Pretoria Capitals