Another 21 players on the way to New Zealand as Nienaber finalises squad

Another 21 players on the way to New Zealand as Nienaber finalises squad

Springbok coach Jacques Nienaber on Saturday night named a group of 21 players to join their teammates in New Zealand for next week's second Rugby Championship outing against the All Blacks.

That brings the total number of players in the squad to 35 after 14 players made the trip earlier this week, including the likes of Eben Etzebeth, Faf de Klerk, Cheslin Kolbe, Lood de Jager, Damian de Allende and Malcolm Marx.

The group heading to New Zealand after starring in last night's stirring victory includes captain courageous Duane Vermeulen, Steven Kitshoff, Frans Malherbe, Bongi Mbonambi, Manie Libbok, Lukhanyo Am, Cobus Reinach and Grant Williams.

This group will depart for New Zealand late on Sunday afternoon and arrive in Auckland late on Monday night.

Nienaber, SA Rugby Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus and Bok assistant coach Felix Jones departed for New Zealand immediately after the Pretoria battle, which will allow them to get down to business on the field from Monday, giving them a full week of training.

"It was always part of our planning that some of the players who ran out in the Test against Australia would travel to New Zealand, and given some impressive performances today, we decided to take a few more players than we originally planned for," said Erasmus.

"We now have the luxury of having a bunch of fresh players to work with in New Zealand from Monday, and they'll be joined by a group who have experienced the physicality of Australia and who can add energy and momentum at training from Tuesday.

"We'll analyse the match on our journey to New Zealand and then announce our team to face the All Blacks on Tuesday."

Additional Springbok players travelling to New Zealand

Forwards: Thomas du Toit, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Deon Fourie, Steven Kitshoff, Jean Kleyn, Vincent Koch, Frans Malherbe, Bongi Mbonambi, Trevor Nyakane, RG Snyman, Marco van Staden, Duane Vermeulen.

Backs: Lukhanyo Am, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Andre Esterhuizen, Herschel Jantjies, Willie le Roux, Manie Libbok, Cobus Reinach, Damian Willemse, Grant Williams.