Sasolburg Marathon targets 3000 runners for the Comrades Marathon qualifier race

Sasolburg Marathon targets 3000 runners for the Comrades Marathon qualifier race

The organizers of the Sasol Marathon target 3000 entries for the 42.2km, 21.1km, 10km, and 5km fun race taking place in Sasolburg on Saturday, 25 March 2023.

The 42.2km and 21.1km races will start at 06:00 am in front of the DP de Villiers Stadium in Sasolburg, while the 10km race will commence at 06:15 am. The 5km run will start at 06:30 am.

Only online pre-entries are available this year for the 42,2km, 21,1km, and 10km races on until 22 March 2023.

The cost is R250 for the 42,2km marathon, R180 for the 21,1km half marathon, and R100 for the 10km race.

Runners should note that temporary licenses must be bought at R70 online with entries.

Former Comrades Marathon winners Ann Ashworth, Bruce Fordyce, and the late Sam Tshabalala are top runners and well-known runners in the race in the past 27 years.

Event manager Dolf Binneman told SABC Sport that entries are open and they expect to sell out entries before race day.

“We accept late entries on the day of the race. Last year, we got restricted to having 1000 runners due to the Cocid-19 regulations, but this year, we have not limited the runners. The marathon serves as the Comrades Marathon qualifier, and most runners use it to prepare for the Two Oceans Marathon in Cape Town,” said Binneman.

The runners can participate in a fast, flat route through Sasolburg that runs past the Sasol factory and the Sasolburg Highveld factory Garden.

Former Banyana Banyana defender Rose Jijane will be among the thousands of runners lining the streets of Sasolburg in the 28th edition of the marathon.

“So far, we have received 1500 entries and expect to double the figure by Wednesday. This is the right time of the year to run a Marathon in Sasolburg, it’s not too hot, and it is a small town to enjoy the race,” added Binneman.

The Prize money for the marathon is R2500, and the half-marathon pays R1500 for the elite athletes.