Two all-rounders fetch highest bids at SA20 auction

Two all-rounders fetch highest bids at SA20 auction

Twenty-year-old Matthew Boast and Dayyaan Galiem fetched the highest bids of R1.6 million at the Betway SA20 Season 2 auction in Johannesburg on Wednesday.

Both all-rounders were involved in bidding wars after their base price was set at R175 000.

Pretoria Capitals eventually won the race to sign Boast, who entered the auction as a Rookie. Galiem went in the opposite direction to the Joburg Super Kings.

JSK splashed a further R850 000 each on Derbyshire batter Wayne Madsen and West Indies all-rounder Romario Shepherd, who will return to the Wanderers after playing for the Super Kings last season.

The Pretoria Capitals, who had the biggest remaining purse of R9.737 million heading into the auction, also signed Ireland opening batter Paul Stirling for R425 000 and wicket-keeper/batter Kyle Verreynne for R175 000.

Stirling will make the move up to the Capitals after playing for Paarl Royals last season, while Verreynne played for the Joburg Super Kings last season and will now cross the Jukskei River.

The Capitals also brought fast bowler Daryn Dupavillon back to Centurion for R600 000.

MI Cape Town made the sole purchase of Chris Benjamin for R175 000 with Sunrisers Eastern Cape picking up young leg-spinner Caleb Seleka for the same amount.

Paarl Royals beefed up their pace attack with Hampshire fast bowler John Turner for R425 000.

Full list of auction buys

Set 1: Batters

Joburg Super Kings: Wayne Madsen (R850 000), Pretoria Capitals: Paul Stirling (R425 000), MI Cape Town: Chris Benjamin (R175 000)

Set 2: Wicketkeepers

Pretoria Capitals: Kyle Verreynne (R175 000), Paarl Royals: John Turner (R425 000)

Set 3: All-rounders

Joburg Super Kings: Dayyaan Galiem (R1.6 million); Romario Shepherd (R850 000), Pretoria Capitals: Matthew Boast (R1.6 million)

Set 4: Fast bowlers

Pretoria Capitals: Daryn Dupavillon (R600 000),

Set 5: Spinners

Sunrisers Eastern Cape: Caleb Seleka (R175 000)

Express Set:

Paarl Royals: Lorcan Tucker (R175 000), Sunrisers Eastern Cape: Beyers Swanepoel (R600 000), Durban Super Giants: Jason Smith (R175 000), MI Cape Town: Nealan van Heerden (R175 000); Thomas Kaber (R175 000)


MI Cape Town: Connor Esterhuizen, Durban Super Giants: Bryce Parsons, Paarl Royals: Lhuan-dre Pretorius, Joburg Super Kings: Ronan Hermann, Pretoria Capitals: Steve Stolk, Sunrisers Eastern Cape: Andile Simelane

READ MORE: England taking every precaution with Jofra Archer ahead of Cricket World Cup