Rassie van der Dussen to lead Proteas in T20I series against West Indies

Rassie van der Dussen to lead Proteas in T20I series against West Indies

Rassie van der Dussen has been appointed as captain of the Proteas for the series against West Indies despite the batter not being part of the T20 World Cup squad that starts next month.

Van der Dussen will lead the national squad in the absence of Aiden Markram who is still involved in the Indian Premier League (IPL) with Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Wicketkeeper-batter Quinton de Kock and fast bowling duo Gerald Coetzee and Anrich Nortje have been added to the initial 12-man squad after their IPL duties in India came to an end.

READ: Kagiso Rabada expected to be fit for T20 World Cup despite leaving IPL with injury

The Proteas will face West Indies in T20I games on Thursday, Saturday and Sunday next week with all three matches scheduled to be played in Kingston, Jamaica.

Proteas white-ball batting coach JP Duminy said they will not be treating the series against the Windies as a mere dress-rehearsal for the global tournament.

With their last game against West Indies being played just eight days before their World Cup opener against Sri Lanka in New York on 3 June, Duminy insists the initial focus will be solely on West Indies.

"We've spoken as the support staff to make sure the focus is where it needs to be, which is the West Indies tour," said Duminy.

"Yes, there are important things to follow, but really it's about game one in Jamaica against West Indies, and how do we rock up and make sure we're clear on what we want to do, how we want to play, and put in a big performance.

"That's clearly the intention and the language within the group."

Proteas squad for series against West Indies: Rassie van der Dussen (captain), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Patrick Kruger, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Nqaba Peter, Ryan Rickelton, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Gerald Coetzee, Anrich Nortje and Quinton de Kock.

Proteas squad for T20 World Cup: Aiden Markram (captain), Ottniel Baartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

Travelling reserves: Nandre Burger, Lungi Ngidi

READ MORE: Gary Kirsten's Pakistan reign to begin against England after Gujarat Titans' IPL elimination