Captain Dane van Niekerk left out of Proteas Women's T20 World Cup squad

Captain Dane van Niekerk left out of Proteas Women's T20 World Cup squad

Captain Dane van Niekerk has been left out of the Proteas' squad for the upcoming Women's T20 World Cup to be hosted in South Africa.

Van Niekerk has failed to meet Cricket South Africa's (CSA's) minimum fitness requirement to be selected for the global tournament that kicks off at Newlands on 10 February.

The 29-year-old has not played for the Proteas women since September 2021 and has been recovering from a broken ankle.

CSA women's convener of selectors Clinton du Preez said: "Dane was given an extensive opportunity to meet the minimum criteria for the fitness benchmark.

"She recently did another fitness test and did not meet the minimum criteria and that's why she has missed out. Dane did not meet the minimum requirement for the 2-kilometre time trial.

"The management assisted her into trying to get there but she did not meet the minimum requirement. The skill set of Dane as a cricketer will always be missed on the cricket field. We have reminded her of that. We also appreciate the effort she tried to put into meeting the fitness level."

The Proteas women will be captained by all-rounder Sune Luus, with Chloe Tryon continuing in her role as vice-captain.

The host nation will kick off their tournament in the opening game of the T20 World Cup against Sri Lanka in Cape Town before further Group A fixtures against New Zealand (13 February), defending champions Australia (18 February) and Bangladesh (21 February).

Group B is made up of England, India and Pakistan as well as the West Indies and Ireland with the top two sides from each pool advancing to the semifinals.

Proteas women squad for T20 World Cup: Sune Luus (capt), Chloe Tryon (vice-capt), Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Laura Wolvaardt, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Delmi Tucker, Annerie Dercksen.

Non-traveling reserves: Micaela Andrews, Tebogo Macheke, Tumi Sekhukhune