Injury sees Marnus Labuschagne replace Ashton Agar in Australia's World Cup squad

Injury sees Marnus Labuschagne replace Ashton Agar in Australia's World Cup squad

An injury to spinner Ashton Agar has opened the door for Marnus Labuschagne to join Australia's 2023 Cricket World Cup squad.

Labuschagne was an eye-catching omission from the provisional party for the tournament which gets under way in India next week, owing to a modest average of 31.37 and just one century in 30 ODI appearances.

But after being given a chance, initially as a concussion substitute for Cameron Green, Labuschagne has impressed in South Africa and India, averaging 60.14 with a strike-rate of 97.67 in eight ODIs - contributing one hundred and two fifties.

The middle-order batter and very occasional spinner therefore comes into Australia's 15-strong squad in place of slow left-armer Agar, who has been unable to shrug off a calf complaint suffered last month.

Australia announced they will persevere with Travis Head despite the top-order batter's broken hand which is set to keep him out of at least the first half of the tournament.

"There has been one change to the original preliminary squad of 15 announced a month ago with Marnus replacing Ashton," said Cricket Australia chair of selectors George Bailey.

"This was a tough call but unfortunately, we couldn't carry both Travis and Ashton into the tournament with the injuries they have.

"We have made the decision to carry Travis through the early stages with the aim of him being available around the mid-part of the tournament.

"He has been a really important player in this ODI team and we are hopeful his return can provide a positive impetus as it gets to the business end of the tournament."

Top-order batter Matt Short and leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha will stay with the squad at least until the conclusion of Australia's warm-up matches next week.

Australia squad for the World Cup: P Cummins (captain), S Abbott, A Carey, C Green, J Hazlewood, T Head, J Inglis, M Labuschagne, M Marsh, G Maxwell, S Smith, M Starc, M Stoinis, D Warner, A Zampa.

READ MORE: Two all-rounders fetch highest bids at SA20 auction