Hugo Broos turns to Khanyisa Mayo in final Bafana Bafana squad for FIFA Friendlies

Hugo Broos turns to Khanyisa Mayo in final Bafana Bafana squad for FIFA Friendlies

Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos has named his final 23-man Bafana Bafana squad for the upcoming FIFA International Friendlies against Andorra and Algeria.

Broos appears to have given in to public pressure, with the inclusion of Cape Town City star striker Khanyisa Mayo, who was omitted from the initial 32-man preliminary squad.

READ: Steve Barker: Bafana’s AFCON success proves we have a strong league

Calls have increased for Mayo – the second-top goal scorer and the best South African finisher in the DStv Premiership this season, behind only Mamelodi Sundowns' Brazilian attacker Lucas Ribeiro, to be called into the national team.

This comes after the 25-year-old was snubbed from the recent 2023 Africa Cup of Nations in Cote d'Ivoire despite his exploits on the domestic scene, as he last received a look-in in October last year.

Meanwhile, Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Bruce Bvuma makes a return to the international scene, following an extended absence since the AFCON qualifiers against Morocco in September 2022.

Also stepping in is Sundowns defender Grant Kekana, who – like Mayo – also didn't feature in the preliminary squad, while key figures Khuliso Mudau, Mothobi Mvala, Thapelo Maseko, and Evidence Makgopa all miss out.

The team is expected to assemble in Johannesburg on Sunday, before departure for Algeria – where the pilot project will be hosted, is likely to be by next Tuesday.

The matches will take place in Annaba on Thursday, 21 March (vs Andorra) and Algiers on Tuesday, 26 March (vs Algeria).

READ: Percy Tau clinches eighth trophy with Egyptian giants Al Ahly

Final Bafana 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs), Ricardo Goss (SuperSport United)

Defenders: Thapelo Morena, Aubrey Modiba, Grant Kekana (all Sundowns), Sydney Mobbie (Sekhukhune United), Nkosinathi Sibisi, Tapelo Xoki (both Orlando Pirates), Siyabonga Ngezana (FCSB, Romania)

Midfielders: Teboho Mokoena (Sundowns), Goodman Mosele (Chippa United), Sphephelo Sithole (CD Tondela, Portugal), Grant Margeman (SuperSport)

Forwards: Themba Zwane (Sundowns), Patrick Maswanganyi (Pirates), Khanyiso Mayo (Cape Town City), Oswin Appollis (Polokwane City), Mihlali Mayambela (Aris Limassol, Cyprus), Mlondi Mbanjwa (AmaZulu), Iqraam Rayners (Stellenbosch), Elias Mokwana (Sekhukhune United)