Hugo Broos names preliminary Bafana Bafana squad to face Morocco

Hugo Broos names preliminary Bafana Bafana squad to face Morocco

Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos has named a 34-member preliminary squad for the upcoming 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Morocco next month.

Broos’ charges will face the Atlas Lions at FNB Stadium on Saturday 17 June 2023.

Both teams have already qualified for the continental tournament to be held in Côte d’Ivoire on 13 January – 11 February 2024.

The preliminary squad will be trimmed to 23 players early next month when Broos announces his final squad list.

Broos also announced that a reduced pre-camp will be held from 31 May 2023 to 7 June and it will be made up of local and a few overseas-based players.

Given Msimango will look to make his debut in the Bafana camp while Njabulo Blom has also received a call up after withdrawing from the qualifiers camp against Liberia due to illness.

The final squad will go into camp on Sunday 11 June 2023.


Full Bafana Bafana 34-man preliminary squad:

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Ricardo Goss (SuperSport United), Melusi Buthelezi (TS Galaxy)

Defenders: Given Msimango (TS Galaxy), Thapelo Maseko (SuperSport United), Sydney Mobbie (Sekhukhune United), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Nkosinathi Sibisi (Orlando Pirates), Taariq Fielies (Cape Town City), Siyanda Xulu (Toran Tovuz), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Aubrey Modiba (Mamelodi Sundowns), Grant Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Khuliso Mudau (Mamelodi Sundowns), Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Midfielders: Teboho Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bathusi Aubaas (TS Galaxy), Njabulo Blom (Saint Louis), Grant Magerman (SuperSport United), Miguel Timm (Orlando Pirates), Siphelele Mkhulise (Mamelodi Sundowns), Luke Le Roux (Varborg)

Forwards:  Monnapule Saleng (Orlando Pirates), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Zakhele Lepasa (SuperSport United), Cassius Mailula (Mamelodi Sundowns), Kobamelo Kodisang (Moreirense), Khanyisa Mayo (Cape Town City), Mihlali Mayambela (Aris Limassol),  Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Minnesota), Percy Tau (Al Ahly), Pule Mmodi (Golden Arrows), Iqraam Rayners (Stellenbosch FC)