Pumas put Bulls to sword in Pretoria

Pumas put Bulls to sword in Pretoria

The Pumas got the defence of their Currie Cup title off to a great start with a 63-15 demolition of the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Sunday.

The sides exchanged points before the Pumas got on the try column first with a quarter of an hour gone. A clever lineout move saw Eduan Swart find Slabbert, who took it down to Neethling Fouche and he passed it back to Swart to go in for the try.

The Bulls levelled the scores when the Pumas made a hash of a defensive lineout as the ball went loose and Mihlali Mosi pounced on it to score the try.

The Pumas restored their lead soon when Snyman went over in the corner after some brilliant hands. The men from Mpumalanga added two more tries before the break through De Klerk and Stighling.

It was more of the same after the break as the visitors ran in their fifth try through Devon Williams after a blinding counter-attack. Soon after another brilliant break saw Andre Fouche going over and then Diego Appollis brilliantly collected his own grubber through to score a sensational individual try.

Francois Kleinhans piled more misery onto the Bulls, Appollis grabbed his brace before Cornal Hendricks got on the try column, which would prove to be scant consolation for the Bulls.

The scorers:

For Bulls: Tries: Mosi, HendricksCon: SteynPen: Steyn

For Pumas: Tries: Swart, Snyman, De Klerk, Stighling, Williams, Fouche, Appollis 2, KleinhansCons: De Beer 4, Snyman, ThomsonPens: De Beer 2


Bulls: 15 Wandisile Simelane, 14 Sibongile Novuka, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 David Kriel, 11 Sibusiso Nkosi, 10 Morné Steyn (captain), 9 Bernard van der Linde, 8 Mihlali Mosi, 7 Reinhardt Ludwig, 6 Phumzile Maqondwana, 5 Ruan Vermaak, 4 Jacques Du Plessis, 3 Francois Klopper, 2 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp.Replacements: 16 Joe van Zyl, 17 Lizo Gqoboka, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Janko Swanepoel, 20 Cameron Hanekom, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Cornal Hendricks.

Pumas: 15 Devon Williams, 14 , 13 Diego Appollis, 12 Ali Mgijima, 11 Jade Stighling, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Giovan Snyman, 8 Kwanda Dimaza, 7 Francois Kleinhans, 6 Andre Fouché, 5 Shane Kirkwood (captain), 4 Deon Slabbert, 3 Njabulo Gumede, 2 Eduan Swart, 1 Corne Fourie.Replacements: 16 Llewellyn Classen, 17 Etienne Janeke, 18 Simon Raw, 19 Malembe Mpofu, 20 Ruwald van der Merwe, 21 Chriswill September, 22 Brandon Thomson, 23 Lundi Msenge.

Referee: Cwengile JadezweniAssistant referees: LocalTMO: Marius van der Westhuizen